Suburban Living

Some friends I know in Auckland have kindly allowed to me to housesit for them for my first week in New Zealand whilst they are on holiday.  And so I’m currently living in a beautiful house (complete with hot tub) in a South Auckland suburb called Mangere Bridge.  I do have one housemate, but it’s okay she’s small, hairy and spends most of her time outside licking herself.  Meet my roomie:

img_3236

And so I’ve been using this blissful downtime to:

  • Deal with the jet lag.  A few 6am starts, and a few 5pm emergency naps – hasn’t been too bad really.
  • Do the boring life stuff. Set up a bank account, switch my driving licence, get my tax number sorted.
  • Detox from the seemingly endless boozing that started around two months before I left (and I am absolutely not writing this on the deck with a chilled beer in my hand).
  • And also do some local exploring…

 

img_3252
Sunday afternoon hiking in the Waitakere Ranges (hiking boots were worn before the change into flip flops!)
img_3291
The house I’m living in happens to back onto a volcano, seemed rude not to check it out.
img_3340-1
An amazing day viewing some of New Zealand’s rarest birds on Tiritiri Matangi – an island which has been transformed into a bird sanctuary.

 

I do have a few more hikes and other bits I’d like to check out before I leave here on Monday.  It’s been a lovely week relaxing in the sun, and next week I join the Stray Bus in Christchurch to begin my South Island travels.

It’s not a bad life really.

One thought on “Suburban Living

Leave a Reply

